[RxPacketError] Hardware error occurred. Check the error at Control Table (Hardware Error Status)!

DYNAMIXEL System

Turtlebot3

Control Environment

OpenCR1.0 and RPI4

Hardware Description

Turtlebot3 system using XL-430 motors

Issue Description

Running from A/C adapter worked fine. Running on battery was intermittent until complete failure.
Uploading turtlebot3_setup_motor and running produced the error message

[RxPacketError] Hardware error occurred. Check the error at Control Table (Hardware Error Status)!

Additional Information/Attachments

My Turtlebot3 system is custom built from individually purchased and printed parts. I’m a hobbyist but mostly software expertise. The motors and battery are different.

I hope I didn’t break anything but I can’t get Dynamixel Wizard to recognize my motors on Windows or Linux so I’m fumbling around in the dark. We do that.

Hi @GreyHobbyist1

First of all, make sure that your battery supplies recommended voltage for XL-430 which runs off of 11.1V (12.0V is okay, but 11.1 is ideal for guaranteed lifespan and performance).
Usually 3S Li-Io or Li-Po batteries supply nominal 11.1V.

When uploading the turtlebot3_setup_motor to the OpenCR to setup the DYNAMIXEL XL-430, make sure to connect only one module to the OpenCR at a time or else communication will fail.

In order to use DYNAMIXEL Wizard 2.0 to configure or test your DYNAMIXEL, you should upload the usb_to_dxl example from Arduino IDE > File > Examples > OpenCR > 10. Etc > usb_to_dxl

Each upload will erase previously uploaded sketch so make sure that you are running a correct sketch(or example).

Once you have uploaded the usb_to_dxl to the OpenCR, connect power and DYNAMIXEL and use DYNAMIXEL Wizard 2.0 to search the connected DYNAMIXEL.

I recommend connecting one DYNAMIXEL at a time until your DYNAMIXEL is correctly configured with different IDs.