Basic ROS for interfacing BLDC controller

hi guys,
this is my very first attempt for ROS.
i’ve googling alot and still have no idea how ROS talking to the controller.
so far as i found, there are only very few examples, such as roboteq. does it mean it’s the only way for me to go with ROS?

or someone know the clear idea?

i do have RS232 protocol and CANopen protocol, in PDF files. there are alot of commands either to query some information (motor speed, current, temperature, etc) as well as command to spin to motor.

but i don’t have any idea where i should start writing all those command so ROS can talk to the controller.

should i write a topic for each query and create node about controller? write each command in topic? or just copy roboteq driver and edit somewhere?

please kindly give me a clue to start.

cheap lidar has a ROS driver.
realsense has a ROS driver.
but i don’t know how to deal with controller.

Hopefully some one who knows ROS a lot better than I do can give you better answers…

I am also not familiar with BLDC controller. Not sure if this is generic term or if you have a specific controller for your motors.

With some earlier wheeled robots I have from Lynxmotion and others. I used some motor controllers (roboclaw) by Basic Micro, who became IONMC, which now apears to have gone back to BasicMicro?

And I believe that there have been ROS drivers made for it? Example: GitHub - sonyccd/roboclaw_ros: ros for roboclaw

You also have the ability to simply create your own nodes who talk to your driver through Serial or the like and you then have the option to advertise whatever topics make sense or simply handle them all internal.

Hopefully one of the ROS people here can give you a lot better answer!

thx alot kurt :slight_smile:
yes, BLDC is common term for brushless DC.
basically i can send command using bash/shell to access serial port (e.g. ttyusb0) for writing (sending command) and reading.