Could Someone Give Me Guidance on Implementing Advanced Motion Control with Dynamixel Motors?

Hello there,

As I’m currently working on a project that involves implementing advanced motion control using Dynamixel motors. I have some experience with basic motor control systems, but I’m looking to dive deeper into more sophisticated techniques.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=80nsc613NXI info

Specifically, I’m interested in learning more about:

Trajectory planning and interpolation methods for smooth motion profiles.
PID tuning strategies to achieve precise position and velocity control.
Implementing sensor feedback (such as encoders or IMUs) for closed-loop control.
Integration with higher-level systems, such as ROS or MATLAB.

Also, if there are any recommended tutorials, books, or online courses that cover these subjects in detail would be a great help.

Any sought of assistance or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thankyou in advance.

1 Like
  1. DYNAMIXEL features an integrated trajectory generator and path planner that will produce smooth motions for given position commands. Unless you have a particularly strong need in your application, an external path planner is probably not required.
  2. There’s some documentation available on the eManual for the actuators detailing a little bit of extra information about the internal PID controller setup that might prove helpful in understanding how the controller is implemented. Other than that, it’s pretty standard tuning methodology: Make small adjustments to the parameters, measure your results, and keep tweaking until you hit the performance that you want.
  3. DYNAMIXEL’s already provide closed loop control thanks to their included encoders, but certain models support the integration of additional sensors for things like limit switches.
  4. The DYNAMIXEL SDK is what you’ll need to look into for info on integrating DYNAMIXELs with complex control systems.