Dynamixel and Arduino

Hello,
I am using a XL430 W250 T dynamixel and I need to control it using Arduino IDE. Do I need to use additional library ?

I am a beginner in robotics. Thanks for your help

Hopefully someone from Robotis can give you some better answers.

Might help to know more about setup. like which Arduino you wish to use and how you are trying to hook up the servos to your arduino. Some of the simplist cases is to use something like the Robotis OpenCM or OpenCR boards as they are setup to run Dynamixel servos.

There are libraries like: GitHub - ROBOTIS-GIT/Dynamixel2Arduino: DYNAMIXEL protocol library for Arduino
They also have a shield that works with some of the Arduino boards (Dynamixel Shield).

For some other boards like Teensy boards by PJRC, I roll my own setups.

I know this is not much help yet, but again would help others help you if you there was some additional information.

Hello Kurt,
Thanks for your quick reply. I m using OpenCR 1.0 board and I would like to control XL430 W250T (10Nos) in a Mars rover robot. I am using Arduino IDE to program and I have already installed Dynamixel2Arduino library. Kindly inform me that do I need an additional library in Arduino and also suggest me suitable dynamixel shield for controlling multiple motors.

Thanks

The OpenCR board should already be setup to control those servos. It has 3 connectors on the board for TTL level servos:

I assume you have already installed the OpenCR board into the Arduino IDE? If not use the instructions in the e-Manual I linked.

As for controlling the servos with this board you have several options:
You can use the Dynamixel2Arduino, but in addition to this it also installs the
DynamixelSDK and the Dynamixel Workbench