Position limit in joint mode

@willson @Jonathon
I am new to dynamixel and am learning the system by playing with everything.

I notice that dynamixel can be set to have min and max limits when operating in joint mode, this is agreat feature as you can set limits to stop the dynamixel trying to turn past the joinitn limit of your robot.

I have noticed that if I try to set a goal position outside the limit value will cause the dynamixel to do nothing at all rather than moving towards the goal position but stopping at the limit by truncating the goal position to the limit.

This means in my program I have to be testing if the position is out side the limit and truncate it or the dynamixel doesn’t move which sort of makes the feature obsolete to a certain extent as I now still have to truncate it in my software anyway.

Can I put in a feature request for next dynamixel firmware that if a goal position is set out side the limit positions then the dynamixel will travel towards the goal position and just stop at the limit position??

So far I had not found the need to use the Multi-turn mode or formally the Extended Position Control Mode of the XL430 series:(XL430-W250-T). Would that suit your purpose?

@roboteer I was using the normal mode fro operating joints. reg 10 = 0 and reg 11 = 3

When using the face tracking in the demo program that I made it is possible for the kids to move their face or for the robot to think there is a face that makes it try to move to a position that can past the physical limit of what the joint so I set limits in reg 48 and reg 52.