Roboplus for Bioloid Premium

Is it necessary to download and install the RoboPlus software in order for the Bioloid Premium robot to work correctly? If it is then I have a problem as I only have use of my iMac (running 10.14.6 Mojave OS) and not a PC. I have seen that two other parts of the Robotis software suite that use Mac OS so maybe these will suffice? This is my first venture into robotics so I have no experience in this field

Hello @rodleach, thank you for your post and for joining our community! Iā€™ll be glad to provide some additional information to get you started with the BIOLOID Premium robot. To begin, allow me to link our online product manual for the BIOLOID Premium robot kit, which has some instructions you will find useful while working with the kit. Regarding your question, I will explain below:

1. The BIOLOID Premium robot kit, like many of ROBOTISā€™ kits, control the robot using signals from the includedrobot controller. For the Premium, the robot controller is the CM-530.
  2. To control the robot, the CM-530 uses program files (ā€œtaskā€ and ā€œmotionā€ files) that tell it what signals to send for functions and motions in the robot.
  3. However, the BIOLOID Premium kit can be rebuilt in multiple configurations, so the CM-530 robot controller needs to use different files to control different robot figures.
  4. For the BIOLOID Premium kit, downloading those program files is the main purpose of the RoboPlus software. The Task and Motion applications provided by the software allow you to download different example program files for your robot to run. These programs also let you make your own, custom files.
    (Note: Motion files store detailed data for poses and motions in a more convenient method than writing individual Task commands. A Motion file requires a Task file to work correctly, so be sure to download both if available for your robot- Premium requires both a Task and Motion file)