Genetic / Evolutionary algorithms

Hey guys,

i am looking to talk to some skilled and true engineer(s) in robot design industry.

I heard that genetic / evolutionary algorithms (GA/EA) are powerful design tool and that these algorithms are widely used in engineering.

Is there any true robot engineer who used GA/EA to design a robot or a part of it ?
If yes, in what way? I would like to learn more, of course, if it is not confidential …

I am a mechanical engineer, but i don’t design robots. I would like to know some skilled engineer who uses GA/EA in real life, perhaps the GA/EA can help me too…

Thank you

Martin

p.s.
(i apologize for my bad english, it is not my first language)

Hello Martin, i designed a humanoid robot using GA during my PhD.

First of all, you need to know that GA are search algorithms designed to solve optimization problems. Before you get into the details of the GA itself you may want to define the optimization problem. An optimization problem has the next elements: cost function(s), decision variables, restriction function(s), search space.

A basic optimization problem in mechanical engineering could be:

Minimize the weight of a a cylindrical pressure vessel with respect to the thickness, the inner radius, and the length. The restriction functions can be defined based on the design specification such as deformation or strain criterion. The search space is the set of all admisible solutions and is usually defined by upper and lower limits for each decision variable.

Usually an optimization problem is defined in mathematical terms but in the case of GA (and many other heuristics) it is only necessary to have access to numeric values of the cost and restriction functions.

In my case i programmed the genetic algorithm in Matlab and got the mechanical parameters of the robot by connecting the GA to the mechanical model in SolidWorks, then i used this information to run numeric simulations of the robot inside Matlab.